Hearing Decision



2023 ILCA 6 Youth & Men's World Championships

Case Number 31

With Case

Race Number

Hearing Status

Closed

Type of Hearing

Protest - an allegation that one or more boats broke a rule

ves

Date of Race 08/07

Received Time

13:59:53

PARTIES

ILCA 6 MEN

Class/Fleet Technical Committee Fleet Single

Single

Boat or Committee or Person Represented By/Not Present

Technical Committee

TC

GBR 221503

Terry Hacker

Witnesses

Name

Boat - Committee - Role

Case Summary:

The case pertains to a breach of a class rule.

Procedural Matters: -

Hearing with a panel of three members in accordance with RRS N1.4(b).

Technical Committee represented by Graham Harbour.

A Scoring Penalty of 30%, calculated in accordance with SI 17.9, was given to GBR 221503 for the mast retention line not attached to the mast and, therefore, was not a breach subject to this hearing.

Facts Found:

- 1. After race 7 GBR 221503 was selected for on water inspection by Technical Committee.
- 2. The end of the vang control line was found attached to shockcord.
- 3. ILCA Class Rule 3(b)x prohibits the tying of free ends of control lines to shock cord (except mainsheet).

Conclusion & Rules: -

By attaching the vang control line to the shockcord, GBR 221503 failed to comply with ILCA class rule 3(b)x and broke RRS 78.1.

Decision:

Using the Discretionary Penalty Policy, a starting penalty of 5% was decided.

There were no facts to justify decreasing or increasing the penalty.

GBR 221503 is penalized 5% applied to race #7, calculated to the nearest tenth of a point, (0.05 to be rounded upward), but not worse than the score for DNF. No other boat's score shall change.

Short Decision:	Decision Date	Decision Time
GBR 221503 broke class Rule 3(b)x by attaching vang control to shockcord. GBR 221503 penalized 5% applied to race #7, calculated to the nearest tenth of a point, (0.05 to be rounded upward), but not worse than the score for DNF. No other boat's score shall change.	is 08/07	17:45

Panel Chair Gurvinderpal Julka **Panel Members** Alan Keen, Ewa Szyfter